Horizontal County Logo
Cumberland County Logo white - Horizontal

Vaccination

 

CDC now recommends that people whose immune systems are compromised moderately to severely should receive an additional dose of the Moderna or Pfizer mRNA COVID-19 vaccine after the initial 2 doses. Some populations may also receive a Pfizer, Moderna, Johnson and Johnson booster dose.

Information for individuals seeking a booster dose (Pfizer, Moderna, and Johnson and Johnson) or third additional dose for moderately or severely immunocompromised individuals (Pfizer and Moderna only) can be found below.

Moderna and Johnson and Johnson booster shots are not yet available at Cumberland County Health Department. Booster shots are expected to be available the week of 10/25/2021. 

Please review the criteria carefully before scheduling an appointment or arriving at a vaccine clinic.  

COVID-19 vaccinations for children ages 5-11 are not yet available. 

 

 

The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services has announced all children and adults (age 12 and up) are eligible to take the COVID-19 vaccine.

Younger teens – those between 12 and 15 – can now get the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine. The recommendation comes following a thorough review of safety and effectiveness data from clinical trials in the United States by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Vaccines are free to everyone. No insurance is required.

Minor Consent
A North Carolina State law changed on August 20, 2021 that now requires health care providers to obtain written consent from a parent or legal guardian of a minor prior to administration of any vaccine that that has been granted emergency use authorization and is not yet fully approved by the FDA to an individual under 18 years of age.

Once a vaccine has full FDA approval, pre-existing minor consent laws apply to consent to vaccination.

minor consent information table


*Although minors 12-17, may receive a third additional doses if they are immunocompromised, Pfizer Booster doses are NOT approved for those that are under the age 18.



Vaccination Clinic Information


Department of Public Health
1235 Ramsey Street
Fayetteville

Monday - Friday
J&J and Pfizer
By appointment only, same day appointments available
9 a.m. – 4 p.m.

 

schedule icon

Schedule an Appointment

If you need assistance scheduling your appointment, call 910- 678-7657.


calendar icon

Vaccination Clinic Calendar



 

Are you looking for a COVID-19 vaccine for a person who is at home because of limited mobility?
You may call the At-Home Vaccination Hotline at 1-866-303-0026, or fill out a registration form. For more information on at-home vaccination, visit www.ptrc.org/covid.

Have questions or concerns about getting your COVID-19 vaccine? 
NC DHHS has answers

 

Don't Wait Vaccinate



 

Booster Doses and Third Doses for Immunocompromised Individuals

  

For individuals who received Pfizer or Moderna for their first and second dose, the CDC recommends:

For individuals who received a Pfizer-BioNTech or Moderna COVID-19 vaccine, the following groups are eligible for a booster shot at 6 months or more after their initial series:

 

Johnson and Johnson
For individuals who received a single dose of Johnson and Johnson, the CDC recommends:

  • Adults 18 or older who previously received the J&J vaccine at least two months after their first dose 

 

Eligible individuals may choose which vaccine they receive as a booster dose. Some people may have a preference for the vaccine type that they originally received and others, may prefer to get a different booster. CDC’s recommendations now allow for this type of mix and match dosing for booster shots.

Please note that all vaccines types may not be available at all vaccination outreach clinics. 

 

    For individuals who are moderately to severely immunocompromised
    For individuals who are moderately to severely immunocompromised and who received Pfizer or Moderna for their first and second dose, the CDC recommends:

    • People who are moderately to severely immunocompromised are especially vulnerable to COVID-19 because they are more at risk of serious, prolonged illness.
    • People who have compromised immune systems may benefit from an additional dose to make sure they have enough protection against COVID-19.
    • CDC recommends people who are moderately to severely immunocompromised should receive an additional dose of Pfizer or Moderna after the initial 2 doses.

    The CDC recommends third doses to:

    • Cancer patients undergoing active treatment for tumors or cancers of the blood;
    • Organ transplant recipients who are taking medicine to suppress their immune systems;
    • Stem cell transplant recipients who are less than two years out from their transplant and taking medicine to suppress their immune systems;
    • Anyone with moderate or severe primary immunodeficiency (such as DiGeorge syndrome, Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome);
    • Anyone with advanced or an untreated HIV infection; and
    • Anyone receiving high-dose corticosteroids or other drugs that may suppress their immune response.

    People should talk to their healthcare provider about their medical condition, and whether getting an additional dose is appropriate for them. Immunocompromised individuals will be asked to self-attest to their status. A note from a medical provider is not required.

    A third dose needs to be given at least 28 days after a second dose and should be the same brand as the first and second dose.




    Top 5 Things to Know About the Delta Variant

    1. Getting vaccinated prevents severe illness, hospitalization, and death; it also helps reduce the spread of the virus in Cumberland County. With the Delta variant, this is more urgent than ever. The highest spread of cases and severe outcomes is happening in places with low vaccination rates

    2. Data show Delta is different than past versions of the virus: it is much more contagious. Some vaccinated people can get Delta in a breakthrough infection and may be contagious. Even so, vaccinated individuals represent a very small amount of transmission a virtually all hospitalizations and deaths continue to be among the unvaccinated.

    3. In areas with substantial and high transmission, like Cumberland County, the CDC and NC DHHS recommend that everyone (including fully vaccinated individuals) wear a mask in public indoor settings to help prevent spread of Delta and protect others.

    4. CDC recommends that community leaders encourage vaccination and masking to prevent further outbreaks in areas of substantial and high transmission.

    5. CDC, American Academy of Pediatrics, and NC DHHS recommend universal indoor masking for all teachers, staff, students, and visitors to K-12 schools, regardless of vaccination status. These agencies recommend children should return to full-time in-person learning in the fall with layered prevention strategies in place.



     

    Monoclonal Antibodies for Treatment of COVID-19

    Your body naturally makes antibodies to fight infection. However, your body may not have antibodies designed to recognize a new virus like SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. The Monoclonal antibodies, or mAbs, are made in a laboratory to fight a particular infection—in this case, the virus that causes COVID-19—and are given to patients directly with an infusion or a shot. 

    If you have recently tested positive for COVID-19 and have had symptoms for 10 days or less, talk to your health care provider to see if monoclonal antibody therapy is an option for you or find a treatment center near you. Some people may qualify for preventative treatment before showing symptoms. If you have been exposed to COVID-19, talk to your health care provider for more information.

    Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has issued Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) to allow the use of monoclonal antibody therapies for the treatment of mild to moderate COVID-19 in certain high-risk patients.

    Visit the NC DHHS website for more information.

    For Health Care Providers
    Allocation and distribution of REGEN-COVTM and bamlanivimab and etesevimab are currently controlled by the United States Department of Health and Human Services (US HHS). Any interested provider, who can meet the requirements of the EUA, can order product as needed directly from AmerisourceBergen using this special-order form. There is currently no cost for either REGEN-COVTM or bamlanivimab and etesevima.




    Lost CDC Vaccination Card?

    If you need a copy of your vaccination record, you can retrieve an electronic copy from the COVID Vaccine Management (CVMS) Recipient Portal. The electronic copy can be printed for your use from CVMS. Read the following user guide to learn how to register, check your eligibility and view your proof of vaccination after being vaccinated. 

    If you are unable to access the CVMS Recipient Portal and you need a hard copy of your COVID-19 Vaccination Card, please contact our Medical Records Department at 910-433-3857.



    • Contact Us

      Phone: 910-433-3600
      Department of Public Health:

      1235 Ramsey Street
      Fayetteville, NC 28301

      Health Department Accreditation  
      Fax: 910-433-3659
      TTY Phone: 910-223-9386
      Email:
      email_envelope
      Director: Dr. Jennifer Green

      Contact Us

      Phone: 910-433-3600
      Fax: 910-433-3659
      TTY Phone: 910-223-9386
      Email:
      email_envelope
      Director: Dr. Jennifer Green
      Department of Public Health:

      1235 Ramsey Street
      Fayetteville, NC 28301

      Health Department Accreditation