Horizontal County Logo
Cumberland County Logo white - Horizontal

News Release Full Story

Candidate Filing Period for 8 Municipalities

Jun 25, 2021

Residents in eight of Cumberland County’s nine municipalities and the Eastover Sanitary District may file to run for seats on their town boards and the water district beginning July 2. The filing period runs from noon July 2 through noon July 16.

Municipal elections will be held Nov. 2 in Eastover, Falcon, Godwin, Hope Mills, Linden, Spring Lake, Stedman and Wade.

Candidates must file a notice of candidacy with the Board of Elections office at 227 Fountainhead Lane, Fayetteville, and pay a filing fee set by the municipal governing board during the filing period. The minimum is $5 with a maximum of 1% of the annual salary of the office sought. Candidates must be 21 years of age and a registered voter of the municipality at the time they file for office. If they are not already registered to vote, they can register at the same time they file their notice of candidacy.

The Board of Elections will only allow the candidate and one other person in the office during the filing process. Photos with others may be taken in the lobby area outside the office.

Only two candidates will be allowed to file at one time in the office due to social distancing. Anyone who is not fully vaccinated is asked to wear a mask when inside the Board of Elections.

For more information on where and how to file, visit the North Carolina State Board of Elections page at ncsbe.gov/candidates/running-municipal-office/fact-sheet-running-2021-municipal-offices.