Horizontal County Logo
Cumberland County Logo white - Horizontal

News Release Full Story

Board of Elections Members Sworn In

Jul 21, 2021

Members of the Cumberland County Board of Elections were sworn in on July 20. Helen Nelson (D) is the board’s new chair. The other members are James Baker (R), Linda Devore (R), Irene Grimes (D) and Billy R. King (D).

Every two years, state statute requires the North Carolina State Board of Elections to appoint four members, two from each leading party to the county boards of elections. The governor appoints the fifth member, who serves as the chair.

The board members will serve two-year terms, which expire in July 2023.