The Cumberland County Department of Public Health will host a “Vax Your Pet, Vax Yourself” event Saturday, Oct. 9, from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Health Department, 1235 Ramsey Street, Fayetteville.
Rabies vaccinations will cost $5 per pet. COVID, flu and back-to-school immunizations will be free.
Organizations will distribute free items and information about programs and services they provide. The Cumberland County Public Library, Positive Parenting Program (Triple P), the public health education team and tobacco cessation education program will participate, to name a few.
Gift Cards of $100 to various grocery and retail stores will be raffled off every hour. You must be present to win.
This event is sponsored in part by funding from the Cornelia "Neill" Bullock Wilkins Charitable Endowment Fund for Health of the Cumberland Community Foundation, Inc.
Vax Your Pet! $5 Rabies Vaccinations
North Carolina Law states “the owner of every dog and cat over four months of age shall have the animal vaccinated against rabies.” To remain properly immunized, a dog or cat must receive two rabies vaccinations one year apart, then one vaccination every three years thereafter. Dog and cat owners in Cumberland County who have not vaccinated their pet in accordance with this law are subject to a civil penalty in the amount of $100.
While at the clinic, please keep dogs leashed and cats in separate carriers or boxes or leave them in a car with the windows down or the air conditioner switched on. Owners may be held responsible for any damage their pet causes at the clinic.
Cash is the only accepted method of payment. Please bring exact change to pay the $5 per animal fee. Please do not bring rolled coins. Checks will not be accepted. No credit cards.
Vax Yourself! School Vaccinations
FREE vaccines offered. North Carolina Law requires students K-12 to receive necessary vaccinations to attend school.
The Back-to-School vaccination list can be found at https://immunize.nc.gov/schools/k-12.htm.
North Carolina requires parents and caregivers to present the required immunization record and health assessment transmittal forms for their student within 30 calendar days from the first day of their child’s attendance. After 30 calendar days, students will not be allowed to attend school until the required immunizations and health assessment transmittal form has been presented. This deadline has been extended to Nov. 1, 2021.
Flu shots are FREE to everyone regardless of insurance status. Participants will not receive a bill for flu vaccines. Participants will complete a short registration form when they arrive to the clinic. If insured, a copy of insurance cards will be made, and the insurance company will be billed.
Children 18 and younger can receive a free flu vaccine through the Vaccines for Children program. Anyone accompanying a minor must show proof of custody.
The Department of Public Health administers Pfizer and J & J COVID-19 vaccinations. Vaccines are FREE to all regardless of insurance status. Anyone aged 12 and older is eligible to take the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine.
The recommendation comes following a thorough review of safety and effectiveness data from clinical trials in the United States by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Parental or guardian consent required.
CDC now recommends people 65 years and older and residents in long-term care settings should receive a booster shot of Pfizer-BioNTech’s COVID-19 vaccine at least 6 months after their Pfizer-BioNTech primary series.
People aged 50–64 years with underlying medical conditions should receive a booster shot of Pfizer-BioNTech’s COVID-19 vaccine at least 6 months after their Pfizer-BioNTech primary series and people aged 18–49 years with underlying medical conditions may receive a booster shot of Pfizer-BioNTech’s COVID-19 vaccine at least 6 months after their Pfizer-BioNTech primary series, based on their individual benefits and risks.
People aged 18-64 years who are at increased risk for COVID-19 exposure and transmission because of occupational or institutional setting may receive a booster shot of Pfizer-BioNTech’s COVID-19 vaccine at least 6 months after their Pfizer-BioNTech primary series. This is based on their individual benefits and risks.
For now, boosters are only for those that had the Pfizer vaccine. More information will be coming for Moderna or Johnson & Johnson.
Eligibility criteria for individuals seeking an additional third dose or booster shot can be found on the Department of Public Health website.
The CCDPH Sexually Transmitted Disease clinic will be open during this event. Confidential testing for HIV, gonorrhea, chlamydia, syphilis, and other STD will be provided. Testing is free, regardless of insurance status. Walk-ins are welcome.
For more information about Cumberland County Department of Public Health programs visit https://www.cumberlandcountync.gov/healthdepartment