Horizontal County Logo
Cumberland County Logo white - Horizontal

News Release Full Story

Health Department Vax Your Pet, Vax Yourself April 13

Mar 22, 2024

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – The Cumberland County Department of Public Health will host a “Vax Your Pet, Vax Yourself” event Saturday, April 13, from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Public Health Center, located at 1235 Ramsey St., Fayetteville.

Vax Yourself!

The Health Department would like to remind parents and guardians about the importance of getting their children up to date immunizations for school. Immunizations are available for all youth including children entering kindergarten and teens entering grades 7 and 12 in the fall. Families are encouraged to take advantage of the early vaccination clinic for Back-to-School Vaccinations during the Vax Your Pet, Vax Yourself event.

Vaccinations for COVID-19, Influenza and RSV will also be available at the event. No appointments are needed; services are available by walk-in only. Vaccines are free for everyone regardless of insurance status. If insured, the insurance company will be billed. Anyone accompanying a minor must show proof of custody.

“We often have long wait times for immunizations once school starts,” said Cumberland County Public Health Director Dr. Jennifer Green. “We’re encouraging all parents and guardians to get their students caught up with their immunizations before the school year starts.”

Vax Your Pet!

Pet owners can get their dogs or cats vaccinated against the rabies virus. Rabies vaccines are $5. Cash is the only accepted method of payment.

The Health Department reminds pet owners that to remain properly immunized, a dog or cat must receive two rabies vaccinations one year apart, then one vaccination every three years thereafter as a part of North Carolina law. The owner of every dog and cat over four months of age shall have the animal vaccinated against rabies. In Cumberland County, the owners of dogs and cats that have not been vaccinated in accordance with this law are subject to a civil penalty in the amount of $100.

The event will also host a vendor fair featuring some Health Department programs and community partners providing information and resources. A raffle drawing for a $100 gift card will be held every hour of the event for participants who complete their vendor passport.

Required Vaccinations

All students entering grade 7 are required to obtain a Tdap and meningococcal conjugate vaccine before starting school. As of Aug. 1, 2020, a booster dose to protect against meningococcal disease is required for adolescents entering the 12 grade or by age 17, whichever comes first. Learn more here (Spanishlanguage flier here).


A full list of immunizations required before entering kindergarten, 7th grade, and 12th grade, as required by North Carolina state law, can be found on the Cumberland County Schools website at https://www.ccs.k12.nc.us/.


If you are 18 years old or younger and do not have health insurance or your health insurance does not cover immunizations, you will receive immunizations at no cost through the Vaccines for Children Program.

Bring an ID card, a copy of your insurance card and your immunization records, if available.

If you need transportation to the Health Department for a walk-in visit to the Immunizations Clinic, call 910-433-3600.

In accordance with state law, parents and caregivers have 30 calendar days from the first day of attendance to present the required immunization record and health assessment transmittal form for the child. After 30 calendar days, students will not be allowed to attend school until the required immunizations and health assessment transmittal form has been presented.


Anyone who cannot attend one of these events can get their required immunizations at the Department of Public Health Monday – Thursday, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Friday from 8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.


Please visit cumberlandcountync.gov/publichealth for more information about the Cumberland County Department of Public Health.